Good bye.


Good bye to those who have chosen to follow this blog.

I am signing off now.

I am no longer a teacher.  I am a retired teacher.

A has-been.  A once-was.

A dinosaur.

The powers who control public education have given my handshake, by euphemistic “gold watch” and a pat on the back.

I am out.

Good bye to the rage that has underlined my last three years of teaching.

Farewell to the belief that my voice might mean anything in the face of the tidal wave of “Education Reform.”

Adios to the rubrics, the testing, the test prep, the practice tests, the formative and summative assessments. Adieu to the reading levels.

I won’t be a teacher three short weeks from now.  I won’t be a voice of reason in the wilderness of Pearson inspired bullshit.

I will have corrected my last homework, conducted my last morning meeting, mediated my last fifth grade friendship drama.

I will have packed up the sad old remnant of my once – vibrant teacher life, and stored in the dusty attic.

In three short weeks, I will be gone.

Good bye, dear students.  Good bye, sweet colleagues.

Good bye, and good bye and good bye.

This blog is closing its doors tonight.  Farewell! Thank you for reading my thoughts. Thank you for following along.

I wish you all the very best.

Thank you!

Good bye.

Nonni

10 responses to this post.

  1. I think you should keep this blog. Just because you are retired doesn’t mean you can’t weigh in on all education-related issues. And you still have many stories to tell from your long experience about what works and what doesn’t.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kat on June 6, 2015 at 12:02 am

    You will always be a teacher–in or out of the classroom, blog or no blog.
    I do hope you’ll be continuing your “Empty Nest Full Life” blog. 🌻 You have many followers who learn from the posts you share.

    Reply

  3. Posted by 2old2tch on June 6, 2015 at 12:12 am

    I still have boxes of books and papers after four years. Letting go is really hard when so much of your life has been wrapped up in teaching. I still want someone to apologize and say they were wrong. Cherish these last few weeks. Have lots of fun and teach the way you want to. What else can they do to you?

    Reply

    • “I still want someone to apologize and say they were wrong.” Exactly!!!!!
      That’s why I need to stop blogging about education issues; I feel my blood pressure rising every time I do it……..

      Reply

  4. Will miss your voice–a soulmate in cyber space–but wish you the best in the next stage of your journey. It seems you had a great career as an educator; you made a difference in the lives of many, many children, children who will never forget you…. No one can take that away!

    I had to shut down my own blog last fall because a student stumbled upon it, figured out I was the author (fairly obvious I suppose), told a few of her friends, and of course told her parents who complained to the dean…. Not fun but lesson learned.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

