My Letter to Senator Al Franken about the Every Child Achieves Act


Very thoughtful and very insightful letter here. Please read!

Searchingforagrainofsanity's Blog

I sent the letter below to Senator AL Franken today . . .

Dear Senator Franken,

I am writing to you today to express my thanks for your leadership and support in developing the new Every Child Achieves Act of 2015. I am particularly encouraged by the removal of federal authority regarding the uses of test scores in evaluation of teachers and the limitations placed on the Department of Education in pushing the Common Core and other such initiatives. I also appreciate your focus on STEM issues, Native American languages, and the need for counselors in schools.

In general, I believe the current senate bill is a huge improvement over No Child Left Behind. However, the current bill does contain several initiatives that I believe need further scrutiny and amendment. Specifically, I am extremely concerned about the support for charter schools and the continuation of mandatory testing in grades 3-8.

View original post 714 more words

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by 2old2tch on May 17, 2015 at 11:44 pm

    Thank you for sharing this letter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

