Personal freedoms


I keep trying to write this post.  I start it, with my brain full and swirling with ideas and imagery, but then my emotions take over and I find that I just can’t do it.  I can’t force my fingers to move smoothly over the keys while my heart is pounding so hard and my eyes keep filling with tears.

It’s late.  I’m very tired.  I have just finished a Facebook faceoff with a relative of mine who is a staunch Republican conservative gun rights advocate.  And I am shaking from head to toe with rage and with despair.

I can’t organize my thoughts, so I am just going to pour out my jumbled ideas and hope that someone out there will hear me, and maybe have second thoughts about guns and rights and freedom and what it means to be a civilized country.

Today there was another shooting at another school.  I don’t know the details; I just know that one student brought a shotgun to school and shot and critically wounded another.  And two teachers, two teachers, unarmed and untrained and NOT carrying weapons, walked toward the shooter and talked that young person into putting down the weapon and giving himself up to the police.

My reaction? “Two more teachers as heroes; that is a job that I am terrified I will be asked to take on! I don’t want to risk my life to teach.  I am not a cop, not a soldier, not a hostage negotiator.  I am a TEACHER.”

Today I heard a radio talk show where caller after caller spoke about the impossibility of ever getting the assault weapons away from their owners. “People will refuse to give them up.”, they said.   Better to try a law that will actually be obeyed.

My reaction? “If we only want laws that everyone agrees to follow, then I guess we can do away with speed limits and stop signs and all the marijuana prohibitions everywhere, huh?”

I heard people proposing the logical step of insisting that, if we can’t confiscate the weapons of mass destruction, at least we can ask people to register them.  You have to register your car, you should have to register your guns.   And then I heard the rant from the “law abiding” gun toting military man who sent a video to Senator Feinstien, saying, “No, Ma’am, I will not register my guns. I will refuse.”

My reaction?  “Folks, isn’t anyone out there listening to this crap?!  This is mob rule!  This guy, and those who agree with him, are saying ‘ I will refuse to obey the law, and I will fight you with my murderous, deadly, legal weapons if you try to make me obey.’   This is criminal behavior at its worst.  These people are threatening to kill police and federal agents. WHERE IS THE OUTCRY FROM LAW ENFORCEMENT?  What the hell are they not getting here?”

Today I saw, on Facebook, from my relative, a sketch of Adolf Hitler and the words “To conquer a nation, first disarm its citizens”.  As my blood pressure rose, I searched as many sites as I could for an attribution for this quote; it isn’t there.  He never said this.  German citizens were NEVER disarmed.  Hitler did think that inferior races and conquered nations had to give up their weapons.  But why are gun rights advocates looking to Hitler on this argument, anyway?  Is there position so weak that they have to make stuff up to try to make their opponents look like fascists?  Are they actually telling me that because I want to outlaw weapons that can annihilate a room full of children in one minute, that makes me a Nazi?

My reaction? “Some people will go to any lengths, tell any lies, insult everyone who dares to disagree with them, just so that they can play with their favorite dangerous toys.”

Worse: Here is what I really think, and this is what I really want to say to people who make up fake quotes to try to win an argument that has no merit.

“You are selfish to the point of cruelty.  You refuse to inconvenience yourself in any way even if it might save the lives of innocent children.    You are liars who can never, ever be trusted.   Your personal freedoms end at the very moment when they endanger other people, so you have no personal freedom, no inherent right to carry or own or use or buy or store or manufacture or sell or touch these weapons. You are dangerous, ignorant and unworthy of any respect from any decent human beings.”

Hitler never said that bullshit about disarming his citizens.  Know what he did say, though?  He said:

If you tell a big enough lie and tell it frequently enough, it will be believed.
And:

It is not truth that matters, but victory.

Kind of sounds like the working motto of the NRA, doesn’t it?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Zorba on January 14, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    Absolutely, momshieb. They are selfish, they are unthinking. At least, maybe until their children or loved ones are caught up in this dangerous belief.
    Not that I wish this awful result upon them or those whom they love. But they do not seem to have any thought for others.
    And if I hear one other idiot who says that the answer to this is to arm all teachers, or have armed guards in every school (and, pardon me, but one armed guard per school would not do the job, anyway), I am going to throw up. 😦

    Reply

  2. Posted by Zorba on January 14, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    And PS, momshieb. Props to Politicians are Poodyheads, and a “howdy” for you from him.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lisa Marie Harmon on January 14, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    I’m sorry, but you are very misinformed about the gun control issue. I won’t post here about the many, many things you don’t understand about it. I will just tell you that I am a 49 year old wife and mother and a Christ follower. I love all people and do my best to share love and kindness to every one I meet. I am not angry. I am not racists. I am not a radial. I am an ordinary woman living in the United States. I am not a liar. I am not dangerous. I am not ignorant or selfish. I am just a farmer who loves and cares for animals. But I am against almost all gun control laws on the basis of the second amendment of the Constitution of the United States. If you don’t believe that a government can slowly be overtaken by wrong thinking and powerful, narcisistic personalities and become malevolent to it’s people, then you need to study world history. In the distant past, but most importantly, In our modern age, it has happened many times. It does not matter that Hilter did not disarm the Germans, he certainly disarmed the Jews, Poles, the French, and many others. And while I agree that it is ridiculous to create and/ or circulate a misquote, I will point out that though it can not be proven that Hitler said those words, the fact is, he certainly believed them (as can be concluded by several sections of his own writing that contained different words with identical meaning) and he certainly acted them on millions of people. No, you are not a Nazi. But you are naive. Once a freedom is lost, it is rarely if ever regained. That is WHY the right to bear arms is an AMENDMENT rather then a law. It was NEVER to be revoked. The founders of our country were not crazy. They were brilliant. We need to heed their advice and keep the freedoms they fought so bravely for.

    Reply

    • Oh, please.
      Try to get a grip on a few facts.
      1) Hitler never took guns away from his citizens.
      2) Stalin never took guns away from his citizens.
      3) An “amendment” is not written as such because it is designed to be permanent: this idea came after the Constitution was signed and written (some 15 years, I believe).
      4) All rights have limitations
      5) If you are planning to use your rapid fire, extended magazine weapon against the US government because you don’t like its policies, you are a danger to all of us and you should not have a gun.
      6) Christ must be ashamed of you

      Reply

  4. With the very recent events at Sandyhook, I know that there has been some talk of arming teachers. I really like what you said: “I don’t want to risk my life to teach. I am not a cop, not a soldier, not a hostage negotiator. I am a TEACHER.” Currently, I am a student at Missouri State University, and I’m getting an education to become an Elementary Teacher. When this topic was brought up in one of my classes, I looked right at my professor and said, “I am not becoming a teacher so I can carry a gun to work every day.” I really like your point of view on this as well. Here at school, I am surrounded by avid hunters and people in the military. It reallly is a relief to see that someone who actually is in the field that I am striving for believes the same way as I do. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

    Reply

    • Oh, thank you so much for reading, for taking the time to respond, and most importantly, thank you for joining the ranks of teachers. It is the most wonderful, interesting, challenging job in the world. Good luck in your studies!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

