Open House….sigh….


It’s 5 AM and I am awake.

The sky is still dark, the dogs are still snoring, my husband is firmly in dreamland.

But I am awake.

Why, you ask, can’t I sleep this morning?

Tonight is Open House!

Tonight I get to meet and welcome all of the parents of the kids I have come to love in the past three weeks. Tonight I will have the chance to tell them what I hope and plan for the year. I will share my philosophy about homework (Please don’t correct it! Please don’t do it with your child! Please don’t let them work for more than an hour!) and my philosophy about discipline (No, I will NOT keep him inside for recess.)  I will show them the curriculum map, talk about the portfolios, encourage them to stay in touch via email.

At Open House tonight, I will point out the beautiful watercolors of the pond, share the funny caricatures that the kids have created, smile as they admire the miniature pond ecosystems in the science center.

I will tell them how much I enjoy their child; how funny, how sweet, how smart, how endearing he/she is.  And I will mean every single word!

I will somehow accomplish all of this while trying to remember their names, fending off questions that really belong in a parent/teacher conference and tactfully asking them not to pick up and read the items on my desk.  After an hour and a half, I will gently guide the last few of them toward the door and shake their hands.  I’ll unplug and pack up my computer while the stragglers tell me one more little funny story, and no doubt I’ll walk at least one couple to their car.

All of this, of course, will happen after I have taught a full day, had a team meeting and scored the spelling assessments.  It will come after I have sent the kids home, made the copies of tomorrow’s test, cleaned the classroom and returned emails.  It will all happen after I have wolfed down a sandwich, brushed my teeth and changed my shirt.

And before I get up to do it all again tomorrow.

This would have been a REALLY good day to sleep in.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I hope you have a wonderful night at Open House!

    Reply

  2. Posted by glutengallop on September 19, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    Thank you for not over-exaggerating the realism of being a teacher. It is demanding and tough, but priceless and rewarding in the end! Keep up all of your efforts and hard work! Those kids need you more than you know!
    ~Andrea

    Reply

    • It is SO rewarding!
      Open House tonight was really fun ,and really energizing. I have a classroom of fabulous kids (seriously; its like spending all day with 24 puppies) and really great parents. So cool to see the parents beaming with pride at their kids’ paintings, writing, science projects!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

