Tick, Tock…


Ugh.

The ticking clock of doom.

Don’t you just HATE the night before you got back to school?  I do!  I always have! Even when I was a little kid, and I loved school, I hated the breathless, twitchy, agonizingly slow but far too short last day of summer.

In my childhood, the last night before going back to school was bath night.  An extra long soak, usually with bath oil.  Then into a clean nightgown and slipping between the cool sheets.  Up again to double check that the brand new shoes were lined up next to the brand new skirt/pants/jumper/blouse/dress.  Back to bed, where my eyes steadfastly refused to stay closed.  Up to check on the new backpack, and back to bed again.

I could hear the clock ticking, ticking, ticking toward dawn, and the launching of a new year full of new challenges and adventures. I could feel my heart pounding as I waited.

Now I’m an adult.  Now I’m the teacher, for goodness sake.  And not a new teacher, either!  I’ve been doing this “last night of summer” thing for more than twenty years.

But you know what? It doesn’t matter a bit. It’s five PM on the last Sunday of summer.  School starts at 8 AM tomorrow.

My clothes are ironed and on the hanger.  My lunch is made and packed in my lunchbox.  My earrings are chosen and laid out by the sink.  My plan book has had all of the dates entered, and is waiting in my work bag with “How to Get Started on the Writing Traits”,  ”Math Centers for Seat Work” and a copy of the school calendar.

I’m sitting here now, on the couch, listening to the ticking, ticking clock.  Waiting to make dinner, so I can go to bed, so I can get up and check on my clothes, so I can go back and try to sleep, so I can get up and finally start a new year. Full of new challenges,  new adventures, and new faces to learn and to love.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by allaccesspass on August 26, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    Good luck tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

