Dear Nervous Children,


Gulp.

It’s the last weekend of summer, and I know what you are doing. You’re looking at the clock and trying to count how many hours of freedom you have left.  I am, too.

It’s the last weekend of summer, and I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking, “How did that go so fast? What happened to all the weeks of vacation that were spread out in front of me in June?”   Yeah, I’m thinking that, too.

I know how you feel when you look toward next week and think about the first day of the new school year.   Oh, yes, I know!

You feel excited, because you’ll get to see your friends again. Me, too! I miss everyone.

But you feel a little worried, too. You’ve heard how hard the math is in fifth grade, and its scary! Will you REALLY have to divide decimals?  Hey, I’m worried about having to teach all the new things that the government has decided to add to our list, so I know how you feel!

And you’re worried a little bit about me, too.  You feel those little pinches of anxiety when you think about having homework every night. Well….guess what? I feel little pinches of anxiety when I think about having to correct all that work every night!

You hope that I’ll be “nice”, which means that you hope I won’t yell at you.  I hope I won’t yell, too.  I hope that I’ll be as patient as you deserve.

You hope that I will be friendly, and funny, and you hope that I will really listen to you when you talk to me.  Most of all, you hope that I will like you.

Guess what?  I hope every one of those things about you, too!

See you in a few days!

Leave a Reply

