Rick Santorum? Please just shut up.


 

Wow.

I am trying to listen to this guy, I really am.  I live in fear that he may actually end up as our President some day, and so it seems smart to hear what he has to say.

But I might have to go throw up before I get through his appearance on Face the Nation.

So here is what this paragon of intelligence had to say today.  I swear I am NOT making this up:

1) Prenatal testing in this country is done to “cull the ranks of the disabled” by leading directly to abortion.  According to Mr. Santorum “Ninety percent of Down Syndrome pregnancies are aborted in this country.”    Here’s what I have to say:

I had amniocintesis and other prenatal tests during two of my three pregnancies.  I did it so that if my babies needed a neonatal cardiologist in the room during delivery, I would know that up front. I did it so that if my babies needed in utero surgery or other treatments, I could give them that chances at life.

Santorum, after some pushing from Bob Schieffer, finally admitted that some prenatal testing is OK, but that insurance companies shouldn’t have to pay for it.  OoooKaaaaay……  So, in other words, rich folks can get care for their babies, but poor people can’t?  NOW who’s trying to “cull” the population?

2) Neither the federal government nor state government should be involved in providing public education, because doing so is an “anachronism” which harks back to “the days of the industrialization of the country.”

Seriously?  So is this another attempt to launch the “way back machine”, to take us back in time so that we can all pretend to live in pioneer days? That little one room school house sure sounds romantic, doesn’t it?  Just picture the untrained teacher standing by the coal stove, simultaneously teaching the little ones to shape letters on their slates while encouraging the older kids to share the one copy of the Bible that serves as the school library.  One little problem here: I seriously doubt those prairie kids could compete in the international economy of 2015.  Those pesky European and Asian kids are learning in schools who are provided with modern technology by their “anachronistic” governments.

So what is this guy really about?

I am trying, but I absolutely cannot get my head around his ideas.

He and his followers believe that big government must absolutely keep its grimy paws out of our lives and stop telling us what to do.

Unless of course it is telling us who we are allowed to love and marry.

Unless it is telling us what decisions we have to make about planning our families.

Unless it is telling us what schools must teach about evolution or the lack thereof.

Rick Santorum, I am trying to understand you.  But as a modern human with a reasonable education, I have absolutely no idea where you are coming from.

Please, just shut up.

Leave a Reply

